FUNemployment

While on the way to the bach weekend the girls and I were talking about my impending unemployment (I loved my job in Athens but commuting was not something I was willing to do, so I knew I had some unemployment in my future). I was not crazy about it and all of a sudden Z goes, “it’s not unemployment, it’s FUNemployment!” Since funemployment sounds about 100 times more fun than unemployment I ran with the rebranding of this special time of life. Funemployment, while lacking on benefits and a salary, has other perks, which include:

Grocery shopping at Your Dekalb Farmer’s Market during a weekday (it’s like Ikea…great on the weekdays, terrifying on the weekend).

The sun shines on this place! And it's affordable produce and meat.

The sun shines on this place! And it’s affordable produce and meat.

picnic lunches with my husband,

IMG_0324

Happy birthday plates are standard lunchtime china.

planning and finding fun dates and new adventures,

IMG_0319

Pulling into this planned adventures, hubs goes “I’ve been here a few times!” Of course.

sorting out, cleaning, and organizing our home, and visiting friends in Athens and getting sweet Athens treats, among many other perks.

IMG_0336

Since my days are mostly spent solo, they make me value all the more the weekends with the hubs. Even when he has to be my chauffeur so I can ice my head after getting slammed between the eyes with a frozen bottle of heavy cream while looking in the freezer.

At least he probably knew how clumsy I was before marrying me.

At least he probably knew how clumsy I was before marrying me.

Leave a Reply

