Weekend recap | May 7-8, 2016

The first weekend in May I was all set to volunteer at a work event ALL Friday night and Saturday but then those plans unexpectedly fell through, giving J and I a full weekend together!

On Friday night I prepped for our Mother’s Day Brunch, making the cake and herb gravy. Whenever we host an event I try to cook anything possible in advance, leaving the day of just for reheating and plating. J and I cooked (and cleaned) together, before some of our nightly Walking Dead.

IMG_2326

Saturday morning we hiked Kennesaw Mountain!

IMG_3450 copy

J had hiked the mountain plenty of times before but I had not, and we enjoyed hiking it together! The views were beautiful, and it was not too hot. On our way home we stopped in the Marietta square, looking for an ice cream shop I had remembered going to over 12 years ago…it was that good. And lo and behold IT WAS STILL THERE! It was just as amazing as I remembered, and I had J promise me that we could stop each time we are in Marietta.

IMG_3461 copy

Sunday brought Mother’s Day! My in-laws came up and it was fun to show them our home, serve them lunch, and then go look at paint samples together (they are renovating a home). Our lunch menu was a balsamic pork tenderloin, mashed red potatoes, herb gravy, green beans, and lemon-blueberry pound cake.

IMG_2330

Leave a Reply

